Skip to content

Record turnout for Victoria tech industry’s awards celebration

Record turnout for Victoria tech industry’s awards celebration

Dan Gunn, CEO of VIATEC, with one of the trophies handed out at the Victoria Conference Centre.   Photograph By DARREN STONE, Times Colonist

More than 800 members of Victoria‘s thriving high-tech sector made it under the big top Friday night as the Victoria Innovation Advanced Technology and Entrepreneurship Council held its 16th annual awards show.

The show to honour the best and brightest in the technology sector was done in carnival style this year with popcorn, trapeze artists, live music and jugglers bounding into the Carson Hall at the Victoria Conference Centre.

It’s the largest show yet, with a record number of attendees, and that has pushed VIATEC chief executive Dan Gunn to make sure there’s something for everyone during what amounts to a four-hour party.

“It’s great to see how the tech sector has taken hold in our region and it is our honour to recognize the people, products and companies that are reshaping our community,” said Gunn. ‘‘Like the tech sector, our once-little event has grown into a significant production and we truly appreciate how much our members and guests enjoy the night.”

The “gritty carnival” theme also included a guest appearance by Shaun Verreault of Wide Mouth Mason and performers from Island Circus Space.

A total of 15 awards were handed out to winners chosen from 189 nominations.

Jim Hayhurst, the CEO of Pretio Interactive, was given the sector’s highest honour, the Colin Lennox Award, as technology champion. The award is named after the mentor to tech companies who died in 2004.

Gunn said Hayhurst has played a key role in the tech community as a leader of initiatives and a role model.

Ladies Learning Code won the VIATEC member of the year award, and Schneider Electric, Go2mobi and Flytographer were given awards as technology company of the year in three employee-size categories.




Technology Company of the Year (50+ employees)

Schneider Electric


Technology Company of the Year (11-49 employees)



Technology Company of the Year (1-10 employees)



Emerging Technology Company of the Year

Stocksy United


Startup of the Year

Green Sky Labs


Product of the Year



Innovative Excellence

Software or Service



Innovative Excellence


DreamCraft Attractions


Executive of the Year

Brianna Wettlaufer,

Stocksy United


Employees of the Year

Aurora Walker and

Rob O’Dwyer, Pretio Interactive


Team of the Year

StarFish Medical


Employer of the Year

Carmanah Technologies


Creative Excellence

Victoria Hand Project


The Colin Lennox Award for Technology Champion

Jim Hayhurst,

Pretio Interactive


VIATEC Member of the Year

Ladies Learning Code

© Copyright Times Colonist

- See more at:

Powered By GrowthZone
Scroll To Top