Skip to content

Tech Awards Innovate with New Name and Focus

Tech Awards Innovate with New Name and Focus

VIATEC Technology Sector Events Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Sponsorship

In a move designed to ensure more people and companies feel included in the broader high-tech community in Victoria, this year’s annual tech awards has a new name, new award categories and new means of picking the winners.

What was the VIATEC Awards is now the Victoria Tech Community Awards, and the gala evening planned for early December reflects the combined effort of the Victoria Innovation, Advanced Technology and Entrepreneurship Council, which started the awards 20 years ago, alongside tech-focused groups Island Women in Science and Technology, the Coast Capital Innovation Centre, the Capital Investment Network, Women’s Equity Lab and Alacrity Canada.

“Our sector and tech community have flourished over the last 20 years bringing along with it new organizations and groups with similar overarching goals of supporting the people and ventures that call Victoria home,” said VIATEC chief executive Dan Gunn. “Having us all come together as a coalition to steer and shape the event is an ideal approach and further demonstrates what makes our tech community so special.”

The awards were first established to bring the tech community together to connect and celebrate some of the most notable companies and individuals within the $4 billion tech sector.

That remains a guiding force, but this year the goal is to ensure all tech firms in the region feel they belong, even if they haven’t taken up membership in any of the tech organizations.

Now any Victoria tech company is welcome to nominate companies and individuals in nine categories, and winners will be chosen by either a panel of delegates from the coalition or audience polling at the event itself.

“Success has many forms. We’re excited to collaborate with VIATEC to broaden the award categories, make the event more inclusive, and shine a light on those who are making an impact beyond traditional metrics,” said Andrea Hayes, program manager at the Coast Capital Innovation Centre.

This year’s categories include Anchor Company of the Year and Scale Company of the Year, for the sector’s largest firms and those growing at a rapid rate, which will be judged on growth, impact, product innovation, diversity and inclusion, market share and community involvement.

There are also five appointed awards including the Colin Lennox Award for Technology Champion and Janet Baird Award for Community Champion.

Nominations for the awards are now open and more details can be found at

Additional Info

Media Contact : Andrew Duffy

Source : Times Colonist

Powered By GrowthZone
Scroll To Top